Thoughts: Love is In the Air.

August 16, 2012 § 1 Comment

Why does it feel like everywhere I look, people are either hooking up, getting into relationships, or getting married? Seriously! Everywhere I look! Okay, some of you might think that it’s just something I’ve been noticing a lot lately, as a consequence of turning eighteen. I mean, I’ve never been in a relationship before and I’m at an age where hormones are bound to be raging because I should be looking for my soulmate (which is something that’s not really working out for me at the moment). So, naturally, these particular things are going to be more potent in my mind than others like, say, what time I’m actually supposed to sleep so I don’t look like I’m hung over tomorrow.Right?

But bear with me. Please.

My friend’s got a blind date, another friend’s love life is sparking like it’s New Year’s Eve in Times Square, and yet another friend found his first love this summer! And that’s real life for you. In the movies, Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy got it on and their real life counterparts, Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone, fell into the romance aisle of the love supermarket (yeah, I know that’s super lame). Then the other day, I went onto Youtube. Not much romance there, right? Well, at least not in the videos I usually watch. There are a lot of trolls on Youtube and a lot of funny stuff too… And a lot of silly cats. So I check out my subscriptions and I watch these videos and — HOLY CRAP! Someone is planning a wedding, another just got engaged, and someone else just announced that he was in a relationship. And I’m sitting here, staring at the screen with the stupidest ‘derp’ face because apparently the love bug has infected everybody in the world!

I’m not complaining about my lack of a love life or anything. I just think that seeing couples form one after the other within the span of two weeks is funny and weird and worth writing about. Actually, now that I’ve calmed down from the general explosion of the chemicals in my brain that make me overexcited, I think it’s really good for the world. The world needs a little more love. Like the Black Eyed Peas say in their song, Where Is the Love:

So, people of the world, keep looking at things positively and keep falling in love! It’s a much better sight than watching the Kardashians go about their lives. Really, it is.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Thoughts: Love is In the Air.

  • The Smile Scavenger says:

    Yeah. This happens in waves – and Facebook makes them really obvious. Right now, I’m seeing the first baby-wave (AKA: the Oops! Babies). I hear that the second wave of babies will hit my newsfeed around the time I turn 28 (AKA: the Planned Babies).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thoughts: Love is In the Air. at neurotic irony..

meta

