Birthdays and Spiderman

July 10, 2012 § Leave a comment

After all the cynicism in the last post, I guess it’s kind of hypocritical to say I had an amazing birthday…? Well, I did, so don’t judge me. But I didn’t have a party, I didn’t go to a bar, I didn’t drink, I didn’t even have cake. In fact, I spent the entire day doing simple, everyday things — things I love to do, but never really get around to doing. The only difference between today and a normal day was that I didn’t have to pay for anything except for a ticket to The Amazing Spider-Man.

For breakfast, my mom treated my sister and I to Pancake House. Then for lunch, my grandma treated my sister and I to sushi. Later tonight, my best friend and I went to the theatre to see The Amazing Spider-Man (my second time seeing it within a couple of days… the first time, circumstances weren’t so great, so seeing it again helped me to appreciate how beautiful the film really is). After a movie, came bubble tea and Connect Four because… that was the only game we knew how to play at the bubble tea  place. And then after bubble tea, we decided we were hungry and drove to McDonald’s where I drove through my first drive-thru.

You’re not an adult until you drive through your first drive-thru. Yes, this is what adults do.

I had a day filled with fun and laughter, and honestly, that was all I could hope for. After a particularly stressful year, it was nice to be laid-back and not feel guilty about eating fast food because the next day you might not fit in your prom dress. Best of all, I spent it with my favourite people ever, especially my bestie!

Yup, had a good one.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Birthdays and Spiderman at neurotic irony..

meta

