In Which the Rest of the Year Will Pass Quickly

February 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

Hello World with a capital ‘W’. I am five months away from being initiated into the real world, but not really because it is absolutely essential (at least where I live, I don’t know about anywhere else) to keep on with my studies and obtain post-secondary credentials.

In other words: I’M GRADUATING FROM HIGH SCHOOL B****ES!!!

People keep telling me that second semester will rush by in a blur and before I know it, I’ll be walking across the stage at the Centennial Concert Hall and shaking the principal’s hand as he hands me my diploma. There’s something scary about that — that one journey across the stage marks the next steps I will take into the unknown. Even if I’d already been accepted into engineering, even if I’ve already planned which student groups I’m going be a part of, and even if I know exactly what I’m going to do with the rest of my life after my decree, I’m still scared. I’m so scared I might wet my pants just thinking about it.

(Just kidding, but I’m still really scared.)

The truth is, I have no idea what I want to do with the rest of my life. All this planning… it’s really just for show. The guidance counsellors tell me nobody really knows what they want to do until they’re 24, but is that the truth? Sometimes I get the impression even adults don’t know what they’re doing half the time.

So now I ask you — do you know what you want to do? Or if you’ve already reached the levels of a career-person who is perfectly stable, did you know when you were in my shoes?

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In Which the Rest of the Year Will Pass Quickly at neurotic irony..

meta

