Gambling

January 5, 2012 § Leave a comment

Wake me up when the sun is set
And twilight’s come to have its say
Maybe then I’ll place my bet.

Some days I’m in a bell jar, stuffy as all heck
Where carbon dioxide is recycled every day
Wake me up when the sun is set.

I find myself in a birdcage all ready, all set
Chains of steel bind me black, blue and grey
Maybe then I’ll place my bet.

Apparently I’m a gamble to pay your debt
Your pawn in chess; you’ll soon throw me away
Wake me up when the sun is set.

The fleshy ground is teary wet
Yet despite the weather you still want to play
Maybe then I’ll place my bet.

I’m so neurotic, I just can’t help but fret
Over each breath stifled every which way
Wake me up when the sun is set
Maybe then I’ll place my bet.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gambling at neurotic irony..

meta

